#NaismithWatch: Boy’s All-America Team – March 8, 2016

Naismith Boys All America Team

The Naismith Awards were founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to recognize accomplished athletes, coaches, officials and contributors to high school and college basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, the creator of the game of basketball, the first Naismith trophy was awarded in 1969 to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor, later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. The Women’s Player of the Year Award was first given to Anne Donovan of Old Dominion University in 1983. Each year the club’s board publishes the “Naismith Watch” list that is made up of the top 50 players to watch in men’s and women’s college basketball. The organization also releases a list of 30 mid-season Naismith candidates. At the end of the season the Naismith Trophy is awarded to the player of the year in men’s and women’s college basketball. A national voting academy of leading basketball coaches, administrators and journalists votes based on player performance throughout the season. In 1987, to honor the nation’s best boy’s and girl’s high school basketball players, the Naismith Trophy Girl’s High School Player of the Year was established.

First Team

Lonzo Ball: Chino Hills, CA – Chino Hills – Senior – PG – UCLA
Miles Bridges: Flint, MI – Huntington Prep – Senior – SF – Michigan State
De’Aaron Fox: Katy, TX – Cypress Lakes – Senior – PG – Kentucky
Josh Jackson: Southfield, MI – Napa Prolific Prep – Senior – SF
Jayson Tatum: St. Louis, MO – Chaminade – Senior – SF – Duke

Second Team

Bam Adebayo: High Point, NC – High Point Christian – Senior – PF/C – Kentucky
Markelle Fultz: Upper Marlboro, MD – DeMatha Catholic – Senior – G – Washington
Frank Jackson: Alpine, UT – Lone Peak – Senior – G – Duke
TJ Leaf: El Cajon, CA – Foothills Christian – Senior – PF – UCLA
Malik Monk: Bentonville, AR – Bentonville – Senior – SG – Kentucky

Third Team

DeAndre Ayton: Phoenix, AZ – Hillcrest Academy – Junior – C
Wenyen Gabriel: Wilbraham, MA – Wilbraham & Monson – Senior – PF/W – Kentucky
Alterique Gilbert: Lithonia, GA – Miller Grove – Senior – PG – Connecticut
Josh Langford: Huntsville, AL – Madison Academy – Senior – SG – Michigan State
Michael Porter: Father Tolton Catholic High School – Columbia, MO – Junior – SF

Honorable Mention

Rawle Alkins: Brooklyn, NY – Word of God Christian Academy – Senior – G/F
Jarrett Allen: Round Rock, TX – Stephens Episcopal – Senior – C
Udoka Azubike: Jacksonville, FL – Potter’s House Christian – Senior – C – Kansas
Mohamed Bamba: Harlem, NY – Westtown School – Junior – F
Marques Bolden: DeSoto, TX – DeSoto – Senior – C/F
Tony Bradley: Bartow, FL – Bartow – Senior – C – North Carolina
Wendall Carter: Atlanta, GA – Pace Academy – Junior – F
Trevon Duval: Wilmington, DE – Advanced Prep International Junior – PG
Terrance Ferguson: Dallas, TX – Advanced Prep International – Senior – SG – Alabama
Kyle Guy: Indianapolis, IN – Lawrence Central – Senior – SG Virginia
Mustapha Heron: West Haven, CT – Sacred Heart – Senior – SG Auburn
Dewan Huell: Miami, FL – Norland Senior – C/F – Miami
Jonathan Isaac: Naples, FL – IMG Academy – Senior – W/PF Florida State
V.J. King: Fairfax, VA – Paul VI – Senior – SG – Louisville
Kevin Knox: Tampa, FL – Tampa Catholic – Junior – F

Past HS Winners Include:

1988 – Alonzo Mourning – Indian River HS – Chesapeake, VA
1991 – Chris Webber – Detroit Country Day – Beverly Hills, MI
1992 – Jason Kidd – St. Joseph Notre Dame – Alameda, CA
1996 – Kobe Bryant – Lower Merion High – Ardmore, PA
1997 – Shane Battier – Detroit Country Day – Beverly Hills, MI
2003 – LeBron James – St. Vincent-St. Mary – Akron, OH
2004 – Dwight Howard – Southwest Atlanta Christian – Atlanta, GA
2005 – Louis Williams – South Gwinnett – Snellville, GA
2007 – Kevin Love – Lake Oswego – Lake Oswego, OR
2013 – Andrew Wiggins – Huntington Prep – Huntington, WVA
2015 – Ben Simmons – Montverde Academy – Montverde, FL

Our PeachStateBasketball.com staff is represented on the following committees:

1) Men’s College Player of the Year Voting Academy: Brandon Clay
2) Boy’s HS Player of the Year & All-American Teams Board of Selectors: Brandon Clay, Jonathan Hemingway & Keil Moore

You can find our thoughts on who is in the discussion for these awards all season here:

Social Media Hashtag: #NaismithWatch

Staff-Pic-B-ClayBrandon Clay is the owner of Peach State Basketball, Inc., and BrandonClayScouting.com. He serves as the Executive Camp Director for the Elite Basketball Academy Camps. Clay is a McDonald’s All-American Game Selection Committee member. He also votes on the Naismith Trophy Men’s / Women’s College Player of the Year Academy and is the HS Boys / Girls All-American Team Board of Selectors Chairperson. He has been involved in the community since 2001. You can reach Clay at BrandonClay@PeachStateBasketball.com